The Big Update: 33 Things To Do Before I Turn 34

Check out my latest update to the to-do list I wrote last year. Ambitious, yes. I can say that I achieved a solid 14 out of  the 33 things I set out to do. But as you can see from my comments below, I made progress and attempted many of the to-do’s. I feel pretty proud of myself, no less. As busy as my life can be, I am happy to have made time for the things and people I consider important to me. Look out for my new to-do list which I will post tomorrow.  

  1. Read at least 3 good books – with my limited time and short attention span for reading, this would be a big accomplishment for me! I started a few books but never had the chance to sit down and finish them.
  2. Watch at least 10 movies from our massive DVD collection. Let’s see, we probably watched about 5. But we watched TONS of movies on our movie channels!
  3. Complete my craft / work / office area complete with an inspiration board and pictures of my family. (6/12)
  4. Design a business card and / or stationary for myself. Hopefully, I’ll have more time to sit down and do this.
  5. Go on at least one movie date with my Hubby. Although we didn’t GO OUT to the movies, we did enjoy MANY movie nights at home.
  6. Get a Thai massage. Didn’t get a THAI massage but got a couple of good massages this year.
  7. Spend time with each of my godchildren, and for the ones that live out of state, send them a surprise in the mail. I was able to do something special for some of my godkids and their important milestones, but I plan to put more effort this year.
  8. Get to my goal weight. Not at my goal weight YET but I feel great! I am certainly down a few sizes, lost a few inches and am down 10 lbs since the start of the year.
  9. Plant an herb garden.(4/25)
  10. Plan an exciting surprise date for my Hubby. Although not a surprise, we went on several dates this year!
  11. Reconnect with an old friend.
  12. Plan a cousins’ night out. Sadly, I didn’t get to plan one this year. Better luck this year I hope! We’ve all just been way too busy.
  13. Travel to a new place with my Hubby. We didn’t travel to a new place, but definitely enjoyed new experiences together. :)
  14. Buy a King Size bed. (6/19)
  15. Start putting memory books together for our children – you don’t have to finish but just start!
  16. Buy a third vehicle.(8/6)
  17. Pay off /or pay down our store cards. In progress.
  18. Try escargot or oysters – just once! Failed.
  19. Participate in a charity walk or run (more like jog). Was so close to participating in one – does designing a shirt for one count? :)
  20. Find something super-fly at a garage sale or swap meet that I can use or display proudly. We had a garage sale but I didn’t get to shop at any garage sales or swap meets.
  21. Try at least 10 new recipes from the many magazines and cookbooks I own. So maybe not 10, but I did try several recipes this year!
  22.  Cook a whole turkey or chicken for the first time.
  23. Watch the sunset with my Hubby. I’m sad we didn’t get to do this.
  24. Make sure my closet is filled with clothes and shoes that are my current size and I’d actually wear. (6/12)
  25. Go to a Farmer’s Market and cook a meal with the ingredients I buy. I would like to do this now that we have a Farmer’s Market in our community.
  26. Do a one-on-one with each child – and make it as special as I can. The last one is with our boy and it’s tonight! Consider this mission complete.
  27. Plan a family trip. (8/20-8/22 our family vacation in Disneyland/LA)
  28.  Have a me day.
  29. Find at least 10 of my favorite photos in our digital collection and frame/display them. Unfortunately, didn’t get to do this. We are in the process of it though.
  30. Take a class – cooking, art, sport – anything! Hoping I will get to learn something new this year.
  31. Plan a night out or in with my best girlfriends.
  32. Treat myself to a really cute accessory.
  33. Enjoy a live performance by a well-known or local musician. (4/30, EKOLU, Rebel Souljahz, Katchafire)
Leave a Reply

