25 Things You Didn’t Know About Me

  • I am a mother of four but only gave birth to our youngest. I was a mom to my three bonus kids for 5 years before Ella arrived.
  • I have zero tolerance for liars and bad parents, or worse yet bad parents who lie.
  • I do not do needles well and my veins are very small and hard-to-find – I’m amazed that I survived my pregnancy with all the poking around they had to do. Needless to say, heroin addict will never be a problem of mine!
  • I do not like watching the news because it’s depressing and it makes me paranoid. I’m ok living in caution and knowing that evil lives out there but don’t care to know all the details.
  • I was a bigger basketball (Lakers specifically thanks to my Mom and Dad) fan when I was about 8 years old. I can still name all of the basketball players from the early 80s.
  • I bought my first place right before my 26th birthday – all by myself! Living alone was one of the best things I ever did in my life.
  • I have PMS bad almost every month – my poor Hubby pays for it. It stands for Pissy Mood Syndrome, by the way. :)
  • My Dad is the oldest of 10 siblings and my mom is one of 7 kids, but in my family it’s just me and my big brother.
  • I am not a big fan of onions and mushrooms, but if you can chop it up small enough and “camouflage” it, I’ll eat it. And Burger King onion rings ARE my favorite, oddly enough.
  • I’ve dated my share of good guys and bad guys, but I have never thought twice about my Husband nor have I had a stronger connection with anyone else. He is truly my soul mate, my best friend and the love of my life!
  • I consider myself a bit of a daredevil and have gone skydiving and parasailing and had NO problem with it. Although I’m more terrified about water-related activities, I’ve been jetskiing and snorkeling. I almost drowned at the age of 3 – so that traumatized me. :(
  • My old childhood friend Grace nicknamed me “Shey” when we were about 14 years old and it stuck – I just decided to spell it “Shaye”. I know one other person named Sheryl with the same nickname only spelled “Shea”.
  • I have had the same 3 best friends for the past 20 years and today we’re all married and have children – it’s a beautiful thing.
  • Even though I am a First Generation American born of immigrant Filipino parents, I do what I can do preserve our culture and pass along traditions to our children. One way I do this is through cooking traditional Filipino food – I can cook adobo, kare kare, palabok, sinigang, pansit, lumpia and have even cooked dinuguan (stew made of pig’s blood)!
  • In line with #14, even though I cannot speak Tagalog (national language of the Philippines) I can understand enough to communicate with someone who can’t speak English and do know when someone is talking about me. LOL
  • In another life I think I’d pursue teaching. I used to teach business/economics to high school students and taught a hip-hop dance class to teenage girls at a local teen center.
  • Almost three years ago, I was a victim of the recession and was laid off two weeks before returning from maternity leave. After a few contract jobs and a rough job search, I finally landed a full-time permanent position for a company I really like in an industry totally new to me. During that period of time though came many blessings for which I am very thankful for.
  • I am a planner like no other, especially when it comes to my family. One day I hope my children appreciate the value of planning ahead as well as the fun in being spontaneous, which I am learning to do every day.
  • I can hold a grudge for a VERY long time and have a hard time with “forgetting”. I am a big loyalist so I do expect the same from those in my life. Once I feel betrayed, it’s difficult for me to allow you back in.
  • I do not like long distance running but used to love sprinting. Since the age of 5 I would defeat the kids on the block in the 50 yard dash and would usually place 1st in the school track meets. Wish I was still that fast – I felt like a superhero and sprinting was my special power! LOL
  • I just recently learned to throw a softball/baseball and catch with a glove – baseball has never been my sport but thanks to my Husband, I’m learning something new.
  • I am big on family traditions – I want my children to have wonderful memories to look back on when they’re older. One of our favorite traditions is during Christmas-time when we drive around Christmas Card Lane and do a Secret Santa Gift Exchange.
  • There was a time in my life when I was taking both muay thai kickboxing and hula/Tahitian dancing. That lasted for about a year. Talk about a balance of being aggressive and graceful.
  • I’m kind of a magazine fiend – especially food and family-related magazines. In fact, last year I had at least 8 magazine subscriptions.
  • I love music and have been lucky to meet some of my favorite musicians including Ekolu, Fiji, Keahi Wai, and Speech. There’s nothing more thrilling for me than getting to enjoy good live music, and the Hubby and I try to catch a live concert at least once every year.
Leave a Reply

