Date with Mommy #2

Tonight I took our 9 year old out for a one-on-one date. She told me that she wanted to have sushi, so I designed our date to include that as well as a movie she’s been wanting to see – Ramona & Beezus, starring her fave teen actress Selena Gomez! As tired as I was from a long crazy day at work, I was very determined and excited to spend some one-on-one time with her. She is no longer the “baby” of the family and is now considered a tween with both little and big sister expectations. I wanted to give her undivided attention and just catch up with her – I honestly felt a little disconnected compared to last year when I wasn’t working and was with her every day, dropping her off/picking her up from school. I wanted her to know that although things have changed a little in terms of me being back at work full-time, that I love her, I care to hear what she has to say or think, and want to find out what’s new with her – uninterrupted. The end result was lots of conversation time about any- and everything, lots of holding hands, linking arms, and good laughs. I adored every minute of our day together. :)

The invite I made for our date :)

She picked this one herself - the Hawaiian roll - and it was delish!

One of our faves - the Yummy Roll

Going to work with the chopsticks...

Her little goodie bag...

And of course, a sweet ending - fried ice cream! Mmmmm....

Just the two of us - off to see Ramona & Beezus!

Leave a Reply

