Panang Curry Chicken

One of hubby’s favorite Thai dishes is Panang Curry. I was inspired to make some sort of a Thai curry dish after watching Giada At Home this past weekend. I found several recipes for Panang Curry and came up with this “simplified version”. The authentic stuff was nowhere to be found at the Asian market I shopped at yesterday, like Thai basil and lemongrass, but I think I was ok without them.
  • 2 cans of coconut milk
  • 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts, sliced
  • 2 red bell peppers, pitted and sliced
  • 1 onion
  • 3-4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 cans of baby corn
  • 3 carrots chopped
  • 3 Thai chili peppers, with seeds out
  • 3-4 tsp of honey
  • salt, to taste
  • fish sauce, to taste
  • 1 can of panang curry paste (which now I know, I will only use half the amount, as this batch was really really spicy – on a “Thai” scale it was around a 6)
Sautee the onions and garlic. Add the sliced chicken with 3 pinches of salt. Cook chicken all the way through. Leave the juices from the chicken and add the bellpeppers, carrots and baby corn. Add the panang curry paste and chili peppers, and mix well. Then add coconut milk. Cover for 20 minutes or until carrots are soft. Adjust your seasonings to your liking. I added honey to make it a bit sweeter, but it didn’t take away from the heat, which I was hoping it would. Next time, I would use less curry paste and will add potatoes! I served this over hot steamed rice with a side of our family’s favorite appetizer, gyozas. Hubby gave me a thumbs-up – we were all sniffling and gulping several glasses of cold water at the end of our meal. LOL!

Panang Curry

Leave a Reply

