Q&A Time

In my April 2010 issue of Good Housekeeping, I read an interview with Guy Fieri. Guy, along with Anthony Bourdain, Robert Irvine, Mario Batali, Andrew Zimmern, Duff and Aaron McCargo, is my Hubby’s favorite foodie TV personality. Here are my responses to the questions GH asked Guy Fieri.

The best road trip I’ve taken with my family was…
when we drove to San Francisco. We had just gotten engaged, and I remember the ring was a wee bit loose on my finger and I had a moment of fear when I thought I had lost it! We pulled over to look for the ring and found it in a bag of wings we packed from the BBQ the day before! It wasn’t funny then, but it makes for a good story now! LOL. We took the 1 thinking it would be scenic and fun…it was a  big mistake! Kids were antsy and like the old Travel Lodge commercial, all we heard was “Are we there yet?” like 1,000 times! Hubby and I both admit that it was a very LONG ride and know better to just take the “shorter” route. But we definitely made the most of it – we saw zebras grazing outside of Hearst Castle, we stopped at Bubba Gump’s, Cannery Row in Monterrey and finally made it to our final destination. It was an amazing trip with lots of wonderful memories made.

The one thing I always do around the house is…
do the family’s laundry – wash and fold! This is the chore that I don’t mind doing and for me, I feel a sense of accomplishment when I see my family has a neatly stacked pile of clean clothes ready for the week. Plus, when Hubby does the laundry, he tends to mix up mine and the girls’ tank tops and socks! I also cook meals for the family and make it a point to cook breakfast on the weekends, sometimes with the Hubby which is a lot of fun!

The one thing I never do around the house is…
clean the kids’ rooms or bathrooms. That is their territory, and we’re teaching them to take care of their designated spaces. Even though this happens outside of the house, I never wash our cars. The kids wash our cars to earn a little bit of cash and I have to say that they do a much better job than I ever could.

The best part of being married is…
having a best friend around all the time – we bounce ideas off each other, vent to each other, go on adventures together, comfort each other, dream together, and you are guaranteed that hug whenever you need it. Being married is always having someone there to love you, forever, no matter what.

The one habit of mine that drives my Hubby crazy is…
leaving my many purses, shoes and bobby pins around everywhere…and changing my mind at the last minute, which he calls “Making an executive decision.” I love you. :)

The one habit of my Hubby’s that drives me crazy is…
he is a perfectionist, which means that he takes a little longer to do most things – cooking, work around the house, homework with the kids…but the end result is truly a “perfect” product of his tenacity and patience with everything. I’m still learning to be more patient, thanks to him.

My favorite thing to do on a Saturday is…
it’s a 3-way tie…1) I like to go grocery shopping by myself early in the morning when it’s not crowded in the store and I can take my time and enjoy that hour to myself. 2) I like making a nice hearty breakfast for the family so they can wake up to the smell of bacon or whatever it is I’m cooking up. 3) And if the weather is beautiful, I like sitting in our patio with a cup of coffee or refreshing drink – that is absolutely the most relaxing part of our home for me.

I’m really proud of the fact that…
at a young age of 26, I made the decision to love and help raise my Hubby’s 3 children. Now with 1 of my own, I am a mother of 4. It is definitely a difficult task and committment to take on – to compromise, be understanding, nurturing and patient – through good times and bad. We’ve had some very trying times, but I have made a committment to myself to keep improving upon myself to be the best mother I can be, to continue to teach them new things and show them new experiences, and to find a healthy balance within myself as an individual and as a mother.

The one family ritual I never mess with is…
saying grace before every meal and eating together as a family. I didn’t grow up saying grace before meals or eating with my family at the dinner table – this is something that I just followed suit with when I became part of this family. I realize the impact “giving thanks and prayer” has on our children – it teaches them to be thoughtful and grateful for what they have, and to say it out loud will hopefully help them be affectionate and expressive with those in their lives. The dinner table is our gathering place, where we learn about each other’s days and talk about anything and everything. It keeps us close and connected.

Leave a Reply

