On The Foodie Radar

I’m always up for a new foodie adventure, whether it’s trying a new recipe in the kitchen or a new dining experience – food excites me!

So, this weekend we have a full squad at home. :) We love getting the kids involved in cooking, so we will be asking each kid to tell us a vegetable they want us to create a dish with – it will encourage us all (especially me) to eat more vegetables, and be creative with how to prepare it next week. I will be having fun perusing through my magazines for recipes this weekend!

We are also inviting the in-laws over for lunch this weekend – early birthday get-together for my father-in-law. As Hubby put it, we’ll be preparing a Hawaiian/Filipino plate lunch. He’s going to attempt kalua pig, we’re going to make our BBQ chicken (kids’ fave) and I’m making palabok (noodles with a creamy chicken based sauce with toppings including sliced boiled eggs, green onions, crushed chicharones, and lemon slices) – my in-laws seem to enjoy it every time we cook it and as a Filipino tradition – you should always have noodles on your birthday to signify a long life! I’ll post pictures of this feast next week.

Every holiday, I always try to find a culinary craft for the kids to take part in. In past Easters we’ve made Mini Cheesecake Easter Baskets, PEEP Chicks in Green Grass Cupcakes, and although it wasn’t really a craft, one of my more memorable creations was my homemade Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting – a classic!

This year, I think we will make homemade marshmallows. I remember when my friend Karen brought some to work years ago and although I am not a big fan of marshmallows, hers were so delicious – you can tell they were homemade and made with love. I think I will have the kids drop in some food coloring and swirl it around to make “pastel” marshmallows.

Next week, I have a dinner date with my dear friend from college. We reconnected via FB and it turns out that we both have this “foodie” side to us – we both review restaurants on our personal blogs and love venturing out to new places. We’re checking out Blue Boheme in the Kensington area and I’m so excited (and excited to see my old friend too :) )

Happy Friday, everyone!

One thought on “On The Foodie Radar

Leave a Reply

