Random Thoughts Thursday

  • So excited to plan Ella’s birthday – we have the place (Mom & Dad’s) and the theme (Yo Gabba Gabba) now we just need to narrow down all the ideas…too many clever ones floating around. I can’t stop looking at the Gabba Friends site!
  • Also very excited to plan and throw a baby shower for my brother and SIL. I can’t even tell you how anxious I am to meet my little nephew who I think is going to be named Gavin Maxwell – that’s the front-runner for now, anyway. The shower will be sports-themed by request. :)
  • This week tested me, but I just continue to sit back and observe. Sadly, I feel like I’m back in high school with all the stuff I see and hear. Rookies acting like they know everything and stuff blowing up in their faces – comedy! A piece of valuable advice: THINK BEFORE YOU SPEAK. {shaking head & rolling eyes in annoyance}
  • Looking forward to catching up with my girlfriends this weekend.
  • Hope Aly’s game doesn’t get rained out for the THIRD time. :(
  • Pacquiao fight this weekend with the family.
  • For someone who thought she wasn’t a morning person for a long time…I think I’m starting to like mornings a whole lot more!
  • I love playing around with my kids, even the big ones! This morning, I came downstairs wearing my outfit which consisted of black tights, and I looked at my 17 year old son and said “Where are your tights? I thought we were supposed to match today!” He replied “Oh man, I forgot. Sorry. I’ll go change.” LOL. Then…that lead to a whole discussion about how comfortable tights are. During the drive to school I preach “Everyone should wear tights – it’s like really long socks attached to your underwear – SO COMFY!” They all laughed out loud. It’s good to start mornings with a laugh, and I’m certain that they think I’m crazy for saying such things. Makes for a good memory to look back…”Remember what mom said about tights…” :)
  • I can’t believe I’ve been blogging regularly for over 2 months now! I have to say that I am really enjoying the free-spirited writing about anything and everything. It serves as a creative outlet for me (as well as a way to vent) and a diary of ideas (and reminders). It’s also like a “warm-up” before I get into my work-writing projects…especially when I have writer’s block.
  • I honestly don’t think I go a day without writing a list or using a post-it note. Here are some of my fave quotes about “planning” which I am always doing:

“Failing to plan is planning to fail.”

“Happy people plan actions, they don’t plan results.”

“Good fortune is what happens when opportunity meets with planning.”

“To be prepared is half the victory.”

“Dreams, ideas and plans not only are an escape, they give me purpose, a reason to hang on.”

Leave a Reply

