Menu for This Weekend

We have another busy weekend ahead of us – Bub’s SAT prep class, Aly’s first softball game and getting a jump-start on the spring cleaning to name a few. One of the things I want to be better at is meal-planning – I was tremendous at this while I wasn’t working – a hero at coupon clipping! Felt like I saved signigicant amounts of money, simply by meal-planning. I am slowly transitioning back to that, especially since we have more exciting things to save for or spend our money on these days.

When weekends are busy, we turn to the evil convenient fast food drive-thrus. But after one weekend, I calculated how much we spent on food that weekend (whether eating out or going to a drive thru) and I was floored! Remember, there’s 6 of us now. The dollars add up, people! After that I vowed to myself that I will be more cognizant of how much we’re throwing at McD’s, Jack and all their other friends.

So this weekend, I got it all figured out.

Saturday:

Breakfast – Cereal & Fruit
Lunch – Egg Salad Sammies & Chips
(+ I will pack snacks for Aly’s game, because someone will likely be hungry – I know my kids.)
Dinner – Mom’s Lasagna & Hawaiian Garlic Bread*

Sunday:

Breakfast – Pancakes, Bacon & Eggs
Lunch – Hot Dogs & Fries
Dinner – Eat Out or Pick Up :)

Okay, don’t knock the health value – we’re going for fast and easy this weekend! Throughout the week, we eat pretty hearty and healthy. But I believe weekends and comfort foods go hand in hand. And instead of wasting money daily on junk, I’d rather put some L.O.V.E. into the food for most of the weekend, and treat them out for one special meal. Sunday dinner is TBD.

*Hawaiian Garlic Bread – Hubby is genius when it comes to improv in the kitchen. He unknowingly invented a new family fave. I’m sure most of you, at some point in your life, have tried the King’s brand Hawaiian rolls. Hubby cooked spaghetti one night and we didn’t have time to pick up french rolls that we typically use for garlic bread. So he took a 12 pack of the Hawaiian sweet rolls, did not separate each roll, but sliced the whole loaf in half, buttered it and added garlicky magic to it and baked it in the oven until it was crispy on the top. OMG – there’s something heavenly about the garlic and sweet bread combo. We LOVED it!

Pick one up and make some garlic bread!

Leave a Reply

