So Good & Good For You

I mentioned in an earlier post that I have been obsessed with dark chocolate. I was never a huge chocolate lover (although I didn’t mind it), but I am loving these recent indulgences that have either been lying around in our pantry (so dangerous) and that my loving hubby has been giving to me as gifts for Vday and our anniversary. Here’s a tidbit I found on the health benes of chocolate and dark chocolate:

Chocolate is made from plants, which means it contains many of the health benefits of dark vegetables. These benefits are from flavonoids, which act as antioxidants. Antioxidants protect the body from aging caused by free radicals, which can cause damage that leads to heart disease. Dark chocolate contains a large number of antioxidants (nearly 8 times the number found in strawberries). Flavonoids also help relax blood pressure through the production of nitric oxide, and balance certain hormones in the body.

I don’t know when my hubby turned into the Willy Wonka of dark chocolatey goodness, but here are a couple of things he gave me that I devoured thanks to him. Thanks, love!

These dark chocolate Fling sticks are beautiful and tasty. They look very similar to a TWIX but shimmery (yes, shimmery) on the outside and only 80 calories a piece. I consider these my new diet chocolate fix.

This big dark velvety chocolate bar has bits of toffee and caramelized almonds in every bite. Good job, Ghirardelli for creating another winner. Love this!

Leave a Reply

