The Unexpected Indulgence

I’ve never been the bookworm, a lover of novels. Never ever was I interested in using (or what I thought was wasting) my time to sit and read something that had no pictures – sad but true, but I was a lover of magazines! Short articles, vibrant photos, useful information, a galleria of ideas on glossy paper. Reading was considered a non-option for me. Remember, I am the same person who cannot sit in a theater for 2 1/2 hours (unless it was a movie I really wanted to see) so all the long trilogies and reels that were popular among the masses, were just not for me. Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, etc…not for me. I used to joke that it was my self-diagnosed “ADD” that would keep me away from movie-watching or reading – I truly had a deficient supply of attention when it came to long periods of me being silent and for lack of a better way of putting it, “paying attention”.

So the spell has somewhat been broken. And thanks to my close girlfriends who seemed to have this camaraderie surrounding their love for books, I am slowly becoming a member! This is completely new – a first in all of my 32 years of existence. Reading.

My life is busy and my time is limited, but so far this year I’ve finished one book (Suzanne’s Diary for Nicholas) and am almost done with my second (Dear John). For the first time, I’ve been able to consume myself in silence and escape my own reality to join the story in front of me. I’ve been able to set aside what seemed to be a very lengthy mental to-do list and focus on the characters who sometimes seem like familiar faces in my own personal life through their emotions and experiences. 

I look forward to seeing if this is an “in the moment” indulgence or one I can enjoy over a longer period of time. I hope it’s the latter.

Leave a Reply

