Happy Hour & Therapy

Last night I met up with one of my dear friends, Gary. He suggested we go to Kensington Grill for their Happy Hour (Martini Mondays). One of my goals for this year is to make time for myself, including getting together more with my friends – whether it’s a one-on-one or group thing. In the past month or so, I’ve gotten together with friends numerous times, and it’s amazing how therapuedic and refreshing it feels – catching up on life, lots of laughing, storytelling, venting, sharing experiences, trading advice…it somehow brings me down to earth and allows me to focus on someone else’s life – their triumphs, challenges, thoughts, journeys, goals.

Gary and I worked together for 5 years – and both of us were affected by the lay-offs. It was good to see him pursuing his passion. It was comforting to hear that he makes sacrifices with the limited unemployment funds, the same way I did. It was therapuedic to share some of the challenges I faced in the last two years. It was a relief to hear that I’m not the only one who chooses to keep a close circle of trusted individuals in their life. It was nice to laugh with him.

Gary is inspiring to me – he and his partner  are wonderful human beings. I hope to get together with him soon. Last night made me realize how much I treasure our friendship, even though we may not see each other often enough. Thanks Gary.

Leave a Reply

