Tried & True (Thank You, Pinterest)

I think I’ve tried more recipes from Pinterest in the last few months than I have from my numerous cookbooks and magazines put together. Here are some amazingly delicious recipes that I tried out myself and loved:

Cake Batter Rice Krispie Treats

*Notes: I used generic puffed rice cereal that was on sale. The second time I made these, I added MORE cake mix. The taste is very subtle, but very good. I love the sprinkles – they just add that “happy” pop of color!

(photo credit: http://pizzazzerie.com

Reese’s Peanut Butter Banana Bread

*Notes: Instead of Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Miniatures, I used the regular sized ones and just chopped them up. If you are like me and love banana or peanut butter flavored ANYTHING, this is for you. It’s a pretty dense, rich loaf but you’ll love it!

(photo credit: cookiesandcups.com)

Strawberry Yogurt Cake

Notes: OMG – this cake was SO GOOD and I think I owe it all to the Greek Yogurt and lemon zest. Only downside is that this cake stuck a little to the bundt pan, so it kind of ruined the shape a bit. Have no fear…all I did was cut slices and arranged it on a platter. We served this up for our Memorial Day BBQ and it seemed to be a big hit! So moist and full of flavor, and perfect for the summertime. My SIL said that it reminded her of a Starbucks pastry – I’ll take that as a compliment. The taste was everything I had imagined…next time I will grease up my pan even more to avoid the sticking. Must try!!!

Leave a Reply

